On the Third Day of Christmas…

So we arrive at the Third post of my Twelve Days of Christmas. By doing these posts I have realised how short days are which has slightly depressed me as I have a fair bit to do before I can properly relax for Christmas. Anyway, today I will be rambling on about Christmas shopping. The joys! Like marmite I think: some people love it some people hate it.

Christmas shopping for me is a nightmare! I don’t like shopping when town is busy, and therefore Christmas shopping is not an ideal experience. Shops are crawling with people, literally crawling! People are everywhere, you can’t get a good look at what you want to buy because there’s some overweight chap standing right in the way. I go into town with a rough idea of what I need to get and as soon as I get into the shops, you guessed it, they never have want I want. Never. A shop’s sole purpose is to stock what it promotes, if it can’t do that then it has just failed at life!

English: Christmas Shopping, Wigan

Christmas Shopping

So I’m partly to blame for my awful shopping experiences because, yes, don’t start hating, but I am a last minute shopper, mainly because I have to work up the enthusiasm to actually go, but also because I’m horrendously unorganised. Anyway, this year I thought I’d make a break from the usual and go early but not ridiculously early that’s just stupid!

On Monday I went into town with a sense of  dull optimism that I would actually succeed in my task of completing the deathly Christmas shopping. Well to cut a long story short that little bit of optimism was smashed right out of me as I couldn’t find anything I had gone in to buy. Why does my family have to be so hard to shop for?

Christmas shopping is by far the most stressful thing related to Christmas; forget the family, decoration or food preparations it’s the damn shopping that does my nut in! But having said all that these posts are trying to get us all in the Christmas mood and after a bit of thought I realised that actually there is something lovely about the gift of giving. Being able to go out and shop for your friends and family at this wonderful time of year is great. It takes away the self-centred mood we can get into around Christmas and the want, want, want attitude. If anything Christmas shopping, however stressful, reminds us of how fortunate we are in having loved ones and people we can share this special celebration with.

With that I leave you this thought, if you’re finding shopping stressful take a minute to think how lucky you are that people are doing exactly the same thing, because they care for you just as much, as you do for them. Remember Christmas isn’t all about presents, there’s a real message behind the celebration.

This has been your daily fix of Christmas.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “On the Third Day of Christmas…

  1. Stefan says:

    I agree – this stressful shopping is horrible 🙂 – good that you see the good side of it though 🙂

  2. frey26 says:

    I like shopping if I am actually going to buy something lol. So I guess I like to shop during Christmas…But I hate it when it’s crowded too 😉

    We’re using the same theme! I just had to leave a comment when I saw those old books staring at me. Happy Holidays!

  3. joejames93 says:

    Eugh stressful shopping! You have to have a plan and a list if you want to return with a successful shop I have realised.
    @frey hahaa good old books 🙂 Thanks, you too!

  4. […] On the Third Day of Christmas… (writewriter.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

