December? Already? AH man….

Oaxaca Calendar 2012: December

Oh holy moly the first day of December has come and gone, what the flip? How did that happen it was like November like just the other day! The year is coming to a close and Christmas is not just fast approaching it’s very fast approaching, there is a definite difference. I’m not necessarily disappointed that Christmas is so close but I can’t help but feel my life is wasting away which isn’t anything to celebrate about.

Why do I hear you say do you think your young life is wasting away? Well friends, my first term of Uni is officially coming to a close in couple of weeks and well, that makes me a real student. I’m now a grown adult and have lived independently on my own for more than just a week which is a terrifying thought, I mean how am I still alive? My cooking is more of a national threat than Sarah Palin for goodness sake! Anyway I’m digressing and I hate digressing. As I was saying I feel like my life is wasting away. Years aways seemed such long things that stretched for ages and ages when I was younger, but now they fly by like a G6, like a G6, like a….yeah I should probably stop doing that! It feels like only yesterday I was glad to have finished my summer exams in June and then BAM it’s December.

Luckily I love December and Christmas so it’s nice to be entering the magical month with so many new experiences under my belt. However, what worries me is that I have no control over time. Any moment wasted is a moment I will never get back. Woah, getting heavy, cut it man it’s nearly Christmas. Apologies, I Β don’t mean to get all emotional but I do think sometimes that each years flies by and it’s a year I’ll never be able to return to and never relive.

English: Ice buildup from the December 2004 wi...

Image via Wikipedia

Therefore, I have made the decision to make an early New Years resolution..dun…dun….duuuun (drumroll in your own head for effect). My resolution or resolutions is to, live every moment knowing it’s a one of a kind and to follow my dreams whatever they may be, however impossible or unattainable they seem. With a new attitude and view on life I hope I will be able to look back on each year on the first few days of December knowing I’ve achieved something great and there’s always something greater to come. If that’s even possible who knows, but what the hell I’m going to give it a go!

So a first aim is to make a post for every day of Christmas this year. I’m not quite sure when that starts but something like the 12th of December sounds about right. I will post about Christmassy things and anything that gets me stupidly excited for that grand day. So I suppose after making it public on here it’s hard to back down on, so please feel free to leave me hate mail if I fail in the humble task of posting everyday for the twelve days of Christmas.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “December? Already? AH man….

  1. tessf says:

    Yay! An advent calendar countdown blog party! Maybe you could interview the Grinch and Prince William side by side! πŸ™‚ But what I really want to know is: can you see Alaska from your house, Dude?

  2. joejames93 says:

    Hahha Tess that’s brilliant! Oh man I’m British but Palin scares me…I was going to say ‘more of a national threat than Boris Johnson’ but I don’t suppose many people outside the UK would know who he was-well anyway he’s a nutter haa.
    I’m very excited for Christmas this year and am looking forward to the challenge of posting on the 12 days of Christmas, make sure you hold me to it!! If I had the chance to interview the Grinch and Prince William side by side I would probably post for each day of the rest of my life-that would be one hell of an interview for sure. Advert calendar blog countdown party shabang sounds crazy πŸ™‚

  3. Anna says:

    Hey! I’m here because of the ‘Leave a comment…’ forum thread, and I LOVE this post! It’s great that you want to do something awesome with your life this December, and I can only wish you the best of luck! I wish I had the commitment to just live. Unfortunately most of the time we have to live by someone else’s standards, so it’s literally amazing that you’re out there with the drive to do it yourself! πŸ˜€

  4. joejames93 says:

    Thank you-yeah I can’t agree more too often in our culture are our standards set by someone who has achieved great things. One thing I know for sure is that I never want to look back on my life and think I’ve wasted it. We all have ambitions and dreams but the hardest thing is facing up to them and striving for them.
    Thank you for commenting Anna

Leave a Reply

