English weather: consistently inconsistent and I love it!

English: Track to Malham Tarn in appalling wea...

Image via Wikipedia

Everybody always says that English people are obsessed with the weather. Well you can’t blame us, it’s dead exciting! It would be folly to presume that just because our calendars swing on to the glorious pages of August that our weather should assume a sunny outlook.

Each year in late May and early June the sun pays a complementary visit and lifts the British hopes of a ‘hot summer’. Each year we thing, maybe, just maybe this year is our year! Men and women all over the country start to finds themselves with sweaty palms and a crook in their neck from anxious glances towards the window. ‘Yes, this year we have all the right signs for a good long, hot summer’ people are heard to say again and again. Hmm, yeah about that! Well it never seems to develop does it? No, because that would be nice and enjoyable and after all this time haven’t we learnt that the British don’t deserve anything nice?

So every year we are left downcast and on the point of upping right here and now and moving abroad to somewhere ‘hot’. Let’s be honest that’s anywhere, even Ireland would do! But we don’t and why I hear you ask? Because we are British and we’re bonkers. In all reality we love waking up and checking the window with trepidation, switching on the TV just for the morning weather report and continually seeking out the met office website throughout our unpredictable day. Never in England can you presume that tomorrow will be a warm, sunny dry day. Oh no.

I like the uncertain weather. I would hate to feel I could never waste a good day’s weather and that tomorrow will be just the same. If it’s a good day in England then you grab it with both hands and shake it into submission,quite literally. Lovely weather everyday for nearly half the year would drive me to insanity, ok that’s a bit extreme, a good tan, maybe. However, diversity is what keeps English people sane. As long as the weather never stays the same we can continue to moan and groan, something that keeps us happy and constantly at war with the skys. What else would we fill our summer time with if it wasn’t venting our growing anger at the darkening rain clouds gathering solely over our heads?

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “English weather: consistently inconsistent and I love it!

  1. momfog says:

    I envy your weather. Here in the southern United States, it’s hot, hot and humid, extremely hot, very warm, cold (for about 2 weeks) and the cycle begins again. I despise it.

    A little constructive criticism, if I may?. You might want to do a spelling and grammar check and give your work a once over before you post. There are a few mistakes. Nothing major, but you still want to be careful. 🙂

  2. joejames93 says:

    Yeah I like the variety of English weather but some consistent good weather would be nice every now and again!
    No please constructive criticism is brilliant. Yes that’s totally valid and thanks for commenting-I was in a bit of a rush to post and didn’t have spell check on but no excuse. I will however go through and edit, so thanks 🙂
    May I ask what you thought of the writing generally?

  3. momfog says:

    I thought this post was funny. I like a guy willing to make fun of himself and his countrymen. 🙂

    Your writing is very descriptive. This post made me see old men (don’t know why I saw old men, but I did) having the conversations about the weather, checking the weather, and then griping about it–but enjoying the ritual all the same. The post about the festival was the same way. I was in the mud with you. You’ve got good tone and a way with words. I’m interested to see what else you come up with.

  4. andyboy says:

    You are right, of course, about the English obsession with the weather. I haven’t lived in England for 24 years – but I still watch the UK forecast on Sky News every day. Ridiculous!
    In Eilat -where I live now – the weather is hot hot hot – and the daily forecast from February to October is something like: “today will be hot and sunny, tomorrow will be hot and sunny, the long range forecast is hot and sunny, the……………. I think you get the picture!

    But it does rain on 3 or 4 days in the year – for, about, 10 minutes each day. We call it ‘the rainy season”.

    Good luck with the blog.

  5. joejames93 says:

    @momfog thank you again for your advice and feedback it really is what I need!
    @andtboy ahah a true englishman! As I write this looking out the window it’s downcast and the clouds look very menacing but I like it 🙂 Don’t suppose you ever miss English weather yourself?
    And thanks, you too.

Leave a Reply

