Why I don’t care if Arsenal suffered their worst defeat since 1896

Arsenal crest

Image via Wikipedia

Yes I must confess I am an Arsenal fan. And yes I must confess I couldn’t bring myself to watch the game that many have labelled an absolute, gut wrenchingly historic thrashing. I don’t care that my beloved team were destroyed for the whole world to see by their fierce rivals. I don’t care because it has forced a change and for the better. It sounds like a cliche but this game may be the turning point that brings an end to the trophy drought that has bogged the club down for so long now.

People love to criticise Arsenal for the way they play-it’s too one dimensional, lacks a plan B, not the singer of course, and a out an out strong winning mentality. I can see this is true to an extent but people forget the brilliance that is an on-song Arsenal team. They can be the best footballing team in the world and let’s be honest every team that plays football aims to play the beautiful game beautifully, or why bother.

Anyway I digress. The humiliating 8-2 defeat means that for the first real time Wenger and Arsenal had to accept defeat graciously and act, quickly as well. As the transfer window clock ticked on Wenger possibly pulled out some of his greatest genius from the hat. He moved to bring in older, wiser and more experienced players that will form the inner core of a new Arsenal team. A giant German centre back is about all many middle aged, true Arsenal fans have been dreaming of for the last few years. An experienced player like Mertesacker should never be brandished with the title ‘a panic buy’. Wenger has, for once it seems, brought in trusted players that will help Arsenal seriously challenge for trophies. And this is all thanks to United, something I thought I’d never hear myself say.

Wenger’s philosophy hasn’t been so much as proved wrong as right. He has sold quality players that he has made and sculpted for a massive profit and brought in assured players to replace. Classic Wenger masterclass I would say but then again I may be slightly bias.

With the new look Arsenal team on show I can only thank United for their performance on the weekend and hope it will be the last of its kind. Arsenal are back with vengeance and will surprise many onlookers this season. A good bottom smacking can only make one stronger I say, but please don’t quote me on that!

The damage of defeat has been inflicted and a wounded Arsenal so often accused of sulking have moved swiftly to strengthen their ranks. Something Arsenal fans have been yearning for and so I suppose I can only thank Manchester United for their heroic display last weekend.

In Wenger I trust.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Why I don’t care if Arsenal suffered their worst defeat since 1896

  1. Quality posts is the key to invite the people to pay a quick visit the website, that’s what
    this site is providing.

  2. It’s going to be end of mine day, however before finish
    I am reading this wonderful article to improve my knowledge.

  3. Ashton says:

    Inspiring quest there. What happened after?
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

